Rediscovering the Joy of Cooking

April 11, 2008

Healthy Taco Salad

Filed under: beef — Emily @ 2:45 am

So I’ve decided that my posts may not have pictures all the time, but at least I’ll post something. I think the biggest hesitation for not keeping up with my blog is that I hate taking pictures and uploading them. I’ll try to get better–but in the meantime, you’ll just have to trust me that the food is good even if you can’t see for yourself!!

I got this recipe from someone on the cooking board that I frequent. It’s kind of a “throw it together” meal, but the sauce is amazing and it is very healthy! The recipe, I believe, originally comes from the Mayo Clinic–and I promise–you really can’t tell the difference between the full-fat version.

Start by browning 1 pound of ground beef (I use 8% fat) and drain. Then add 1/2 cup water and taco seasoning. Saute 2-3 cloves garlic and a handful of white onions. Add about 1 1/2 cups pinto beans and about 1 1/2 cups diced tomatoes. While cooking, place a burrito-size flour tortilla onto a greased upside down bowl. Place on a cookie sheet and cook at 325 degrees for about 10 minutes. You can also buy a pre-made tortilla bowl. Place beef mixture into the bowl and top with shredded lettuce and lowfat Monterey Jack cheese, along with this sauce.

Sauce:

1/2 cup plain, lowfat yogurt

1/2 cup light sour cream

3 Tablespoons chili or taco sauce

1 tsp. each of onion and garlic powder

Super good!!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

