Rediscovering the Joy of Cooking

April 26, 2008

Crispy French Toast

Filed under: breakfast — Emily @ 7:48 pm

Back in December, Aaron and I stayed at the gorgeous La Valencia Hotel in La Jolla, California. For breakfast Aaron had crispy French toast and the next day he starting asking if I could try to recreate this recipe. Now, I am not a big breakfast food person (I think it is because I don’t like maple syrup), but I decided to try to recreate the recipe for him. This was what I came up with. We served it for Christmas morning. Unfortunately, I did not get a picture because my family dug into it so quickly!

Crispy French Toast

3 eggs
1 cup half-and-half
2 Tbsp sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp salt
3 cups corn flakes cereal, crushed to 1 cup
8, (3/4 inch thick) diagonally cut slices French bread
strawberry syrup
Fresh strawberries, raspberries and/or blueberries

1. Grease 15 x 10 x 1 inch baking pan. In shallow bowl, combine eggs, half-and-half, sugar, vanilla, and salt; beat well.
2. Place crushed cereal in another shallow bowl. Dip each bread slice in egg mixture, making sure all egg mixture absorbed. Coat each slice with crumbs.
3. Place in greased pan; cover. Freeze 1-2 hours or until firm.
4. Heat oven 425 degrees F. Bake bread slices 15-20 minutes or until golden brown, turning once. Serve with syrup and fresh berries. If desired, garnish with whipped topping.

1 Comment »

  1. This sounds really great! I love breakfast food and am always looking for something new to try. I just have one question, what does the freezing do? What would happen if I skipped that step? usually I have to make breakfast first thing cause my kids are starving when they wake up. It would be hard to make something that had to freeze for that long. I still want to try it though.

    Comment by Rachel — April 27, 2008 @ 3:03 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

