Rediscovering the Joy of Cooking

April 26, 2008

LiveSTRONG with Corn Chowder!

Filed under: blogging events, soup — Emily @ 4:13 am

I recently heard about a blog event called “A Taste of Yellow” which helps support LiveSTRONG Day  on May 13, 2008. LiveSTRONG is Lance Armstrong’s foundation which aims to raise awareness for cancer. Thankfully, I have not had too many personal experiences with cancer. However, as a pediatric nurse practitioner, I have had many patients who have succumbed to this horrible disease. I was very excited to participate in this event. The challenge was to make and blog about any type of yellow food. I have been meaning to make this corn chowder for awhile, so I thought it would be perfect. It tasted awesome!

Blanchard’s Corn Chowder

From the cookbook At Blanchard’s Table by Melinda and Robert BlanchardServes 8

3 tablespoons unsalted butter

3 medium yellow onions, chopped (I only used 2)

5 carrots, cut into ¼-inch slices (I only used 4)

5 celery stalks, cut into ¼-inch slices (I only used 4)

6 cups fresh corn kernels (about 12 ears of corn)

3 cups chicken broth (I wanted mine a little creamier, so I used 2 cups chicken broth and 1 cup heavy cream)

¾ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon freshly ground pepper

2 large red bell peppers, seeded and cut into ½-inch pieces (I used 1)

3 tablespoons chopped fresh dill, plus more for garnish

**I decided to add some crab meat to my chowder so I used 1 tub of fresh, lump crab meat that I flaked into the chowder at the end and let simmer for a few minutes to heat

Melt the butter in a large pot. When the butter is hot, add the onion, carrots, and celery and cook just until tender, stirring frequently, 10 to 12 minutes. Add the corn and cook 2 minutes more. Remove 4 cups of the vegetables and transfer to a food processor (I used my Magic Bullet). Puree the mixture until fairly smooth and return it to the soup pot.

Add the chicken broth, salt, and pepper, and bring to a boil. As soon as it boils, add the peppers and simmer for 2 minutes (this is when I added the crab). Add the dill, and taste for salt and pepper. Serve hot, garnished with more dill (and some good crusty bread!)

**This post is specifically dedicated to Zackerie and Gwendolyn–two patients I was recently with at their moment of death from cancer–whom I will never forget.

1 Comment »

  1. THe chowder lloks wonderful Emily. Thank you for supporting LiveSTRONG With A Taste Of Yellow.

    Comment by barbara — April 26, 2008 @ 4:27 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

