Rediscovering the Joy of Cooking

October 21, 2008

Thanksgiving Essentials

Filed under: holiday — Emily @ 11:34 pm

Since the holidays are fast approaching, I thought I would start sharing some of the recipes and products that I love. Over the next few weeks I will share my favorite Thanksgiving recipes that I will be making this year.

I thought I would start by sharing some of my favorite products that make my Thanksgiving meal so delicious (and easier!) I love cooking our Thanksgiving dinner. I don’t do anything really fancy—we stick with the same, traditional favorites every year. I figure, we only do it once a year, we might as well do everything we know we love.

This year my family (parents and brother) will be coming in from Chicago. This was kind of a last minute decision, so they are not flying in until Thursday at noon. So I will be preparing the meal mostly by myself. I have discovered several recipes, tools and products from Williams Sonoma that are wonderful and I thought I would pass them along to my blog readers so you have a chance to get anything you might like before the big day. Keep in mind that sometimes Williams Sonoma runs out of these products, so go early!

The first thing I always get is the Apple & Spices Turkey Brine. Here is the product description:

A brine bath before roasting or grilling does wonders for turkey. Our blend combines aromatic seasonings including coarse sea salt, dried apples, juniper berries, lemon peel, and Spanish rosemary and other herbs. These flavors are complemented by the piquant spiciness of three varieties of peppercorns. When combined with water, the mix draws moisture and flavor into the meat, keeping turkey, chicken and pork tender and succulent as they cook.

Shortly, I will share the brine recipe that I will use this year (buttermilk-brined turkey) and my method for roasting the perfect turkey!

The second product that I always get from Williams Sonoma is the Organic Turkey Herbs. I use these herbs in melted butter to baste over the turkey. Delicious!

Our aromatic blend of sage, thyme and marjoram will add distinctive flavor to your roasted turkey and dressing. The herbs are also delicious blended into soups, stews and vegetable dishes. Perfected by Chuck Williams, the mix provides just the right balance of seasonings. The herbs are organically grown in the Mediterranean region, where the climate is ideal for them to flourish, and hand harvested for us at their peak of flavor.

And finally, I love the Turkey Gravy Base.

Making the gravy for your Thanksgiving feast can be challenging when you’re trying to juggle numerous last minute cooking tasks. Success is assured with our savory base on hand. Just add milk and turkey drippings, then whisk, simmer and serve.

So these are some of my Thanksgiving essentials! What are some of yours?? Coming up I will share the following Thanksgiving recipes:

· My perfected Roasted Turkey Breast with Gravy

· Mashed potatoes

· Sweet potato casserole

· Corn casserole (one of Aaron’s family recipes)

· Cornbread stuffing

· Pumpkin Pie

· Pecan Pie

1 Comment »

  1. Thanks for sharing! I’m trying to talk my mom into letting me host Thanksgiving at my house,but I’m not sure she’s ready to give up the reins yet. Looking forward to your Turkey Day recipes!

    Comment by Stephanie — October 22, 2008 @ 2:54 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

